RicherFin · Sovereign Projects

Clinical Laboratory Improvement Project (CLIP) — Ghana

Ghana · Twelve regions of Ghana · Social infrastructure

Overview

The Clinical Laboratory Improvement Project is a solicited public-private partnership designed to expand access to quality laboratory services in Ghana. The latest detailed official brief covers expansion, refurbishment and management of eight regional laboratories, upgrades toward international accreditation and certification, a broader service menu and a modern laboratory information management system.

The Ghana PPP Portal lists CLIP at Pre-procurement with an indicative value of GHS29.33 million. It associates the project with twelve regions: Ashanti, Bono, Central, Eastern, Greater Accra, Northern, Upper East, Upper West, Volta, Western, Ahafo and Bono East. The latest project-specific update is dated 12 February 2026.

The 2024 Annual PPP Report had classified CLIP at Feasibility Stage and expected bidding or contract execution in 2025. The 2025 Annual PPP Report, submitted in March 2026, does not include CLIP among thirteen projects planned for 2026, but makes no cancellation statement. The dedicated portal’s later Pre-procurement status is therefore retained.

Key project information

Official name
Clinical Laboratory Improvement Project (CLIP)
Status
Pre-procurement
Current phase
Pre-procurement
Country
Ghana
Location
Ashanti · Bono · Central · Eastern · Greater Accra · Northern · Upper East · Upper West · Volta · Western · Ahafo · Bono East
Sector
Social infrastructure
Sub-sector
Clinical laboratory services
Project structure
Solicited public-private partnership
RicherFin project ID
0633ac6b-5584-4583-a39f-b71268aaf78b
Indicative project value
GHS29.33 million

Financing

The current official PPP record publishes an indicative value of GHS29.33 million. It does not disclose secured financing, financing sought, a financing gap, a debt-equity structure, public contributions, concessional financing, grants, named financiers or financial-close information.

Official estimates changed from US$8.4 million in 2021 to US$5.9 million in 2022, US$2.933382 million in the 2024 report and GHS29.33 million on the February 2026 portal. No official reconciliation was identified, so these figures are preserved in their original reporting contexts rather than combined or converted.

Current indicative value
GHS29.33 million
Secured financing
Not disclosed
Financing sought
Not disclosed
Financial close
Not disclosed
Earlier official estimates
US$8.4m in 2021 · US$5.9m in 2022 · US$2.933382m in 2024